RIP Rowenta

I was finishing up a client quilt yesterday and got to the end where I always need to release the quilt from the leader grips and do a bit of steaming and pressing to even out the quilt bottom.  I turned on my trusty Rowenta Professional and . . .  nothing happened!  At first, I thought perhaps I’d blown a circuit and the outlet wasn’t working, but there is a power strip there that feeds power to the auto-advance for my quilting machine, and that was working fine.  I tried it in another outlet, and no go.  I got the iron as a gift for my 50th birthday, so if it had lasted about four more months, it would have been 10 years old.  I loved that iron.  It got hot quickly, had lots of steam, and mine never leaked.  I know some folks have trouble with Rowentas leaking.  I was so sad to see it go.

I did a search on irons, both on some of the lists in which I participate, and on some friends’ blogs.  Judy Laquidara had some reviews on her blog and, while she tried a few others, I think the last one she got that she liked was a Rowenta.  So, I decided to give Rowenta another try.  I came upon this little model on Amazon, and it was so pretty (well, for an iron, anyway!), that I just had to get it.  It arrived today.  I’ll let you all know how I like it and if I have any problems with it spitting on me.

rowenta iron

 

I love the colors of this one, and the pretty design on the sides just sealed the deal for me.  I’m hoping it will be as good as my last one!

2 thoughts on “RIP Rowenta

    • I like the iron a lot, but I have to say I really wish I still had the working Rowenta Professional I got 10 years ago. This one is a little slower to heat up initially, but it gets there, and, if it shuts itself off, it heats up fairly quickly then. It has lots of steam, and I did get courageous enough to tip it upside down with water in it, and it does not leak! It’s good so far. I just hope it will last like my last one did.

Leave a Reply

