I think I’m gonna like it here!

I have completed orientation and day three of my new job.  Due to the fact that they are trying to train two separate groups this week, I’ve been having to get up at 3:30 a.m. so I can shower, get coffee made, lunch packed and get out to Veneta by 5:00 a.m., when I start work.  I’m normally a night owl.  My bedtime is generally about one or two in the morning, so this is a real change for me.  I haven’t minded at all, though!  Work is kind of fun, and if you play your cards right, it comes with lots of perks.  If I refer people from my community to work there and they get hired, I can earn a bonus of $50.  After my two week training period, I get a $100 travel coupon to use with AirBNB.  I then earn another every 90 days.  They expire in a year, and I have to work of course, but I can envision some days off spent in some nice locations at the coast or in the mountains!  They’ve told us there are plenty of opportunities for over-time.  Turns out there are frequently over-time parties on Saturdays, during which the entire atmosphere is party — music, activities, and they barbecue hamburgers and ribs for us to eat!  Protein!!  This is my kind of place.  So, I’m really enjoying the job so far, and think I’ll like it even better when I get to a shift that is more to my liking.

Leave a Reply

