It will be okay

Well, at least I think it will be.  At this point, I’m a little afraid to go back out there and find anything else.  My insurance company, The Hartford, is being very supportive so far.  They are depositing money to my account for the tree and the fence and now I need to get estimates for the electric bulkhead.  The electrician was just here.  I guess I felt a little more comfy with him around, so I explored the tree a bit further.  I think the whole thing will have to come down.  Most of the branches are snapped and hanging except for just a few of the lower ones.  One of those lines we can see lying on the ground is the phone line, which provides me with internet.  It’s still attached at the pole, so I still have service, but it will need to be hung back up.  All part of the choreography that is to come:

The power company needs to come and get the tree off the power line.  A carpenter needs to repair the support for the bulkhead under the eaves.  The power company needs to cut the power line at the house.  The electrician needs to repair the bulkhead and probably re-secure the electric meter to the house, because the meter got popped out from the force of the limbs falling.  Then the electric company needs to come and restring a line to the pole, and the carpenter needs to come back and repair the soffit and eave when this is all finished.  I have no idea how long this is going to take.  Apparently, there are permits to be obtained when the power company has to shut off the power and restring the line.  I am not looking forward to this.

However, I’ve learned over the years, and I’m not saying I always practice this, but worry solves nothing.  It only robs you of the present moment.  So, I will do my best to carry on until I find out how this is all going to go down.

I’m off to get some quilting done while I still can.

4 thoughts on “It will be okay

  1. Well, at least you have a plan more or less mapped out. And you have someone lined up to get the tricky part done. (The electrician, getting them lined up can be tricky when there’s been bad weather.) And your ins co is actually doing their part. The best thing is that you didn’t loose power, or phone/internet! So you are “hangin’ tough” for now. Truly as you said worry solves nothing. Hope all is resolved soon and in good order. 🙂 Sara

    • Thanks Sara. I’m pulling together with the neighbors, who have to take out the tree that pulled up my fence. As long as we can keep our power, we’ll take our time and make sure we get it done right. I’m thinking that I might have a general contractor take care of the whole mess, since they can coordinate the carpenter, the electrician, and the shut-off and turn back on of power with the power company. I’m not sure if I could get all the dance steps right!

      • Having dealt with a couple of general contractors, my only advice is investigate them thoroughly, and watch them like a hawk! Oh and ask questions and explanations about everything! Good luck!

      • Yes, I’m getting an amazing education in what some folks will swear you need to have fixed and what others think is just fine the way it is. It’s definitely not fun. I’ve decided not to be in a rush.

Leave a Reply

