The Aftermath

The snow and ice has finally started to melt, but the light of day revealed more damage.

Upon opening the front door this morning, I found the neighbor to the south’s arborvitae had fallen across the driveway onto my fence

Arborvita

 

The fence is, I think, not damaged, but I’ll have to saw this up to get out of the garage.

Arborvita 2

 

My neighbor to the north’s tree also fell on her power lines.  Unfortunately, its root-wad boosted part of my fairly new and very expensive fence into the air.

Fence damage

 

Ozzie’s tormentors will most likely have to re-locate to the projects now.  You can see the squirrel’s nest in the tree that fell.

Lost squirrel hab

 

And my gorgeous maple tree that made the yard so delightful on a hot summer’s day is now blown apart.

Once beautiful tree

 

Most of it lying on the ground

Mess

 

I am very sad about all of this, but I know that spring is coming, life will begin anew, the mess will be cleared away, and new things will be planted.  For now, though, it’s a bit of a bummer.

Leave a Reply

