And it’s worse now

I just heard another thunderous roar from the back yard.  At this rate, I will have no tree left.

Disintegrating tree

Disintegrating tree2

 

One line down already

Line down

 

That thick black horizontal line is my power cable – right under that branch that is horribly weighed down.  I’m getting a bit freaked out.

Lines under limb 2 Lines under limb

Nasty, nasty winter

I’ve been busy.  Walking the dog, trying to get in better shape, sewing, quilting, and then curling up in the fetal position on the couch because I hate the cold and the snow.  Add to that an ice storm after two and a half days of snow storms, and I’m pretty dang cranky.  Sigh.  There is a certain beauty to this stuff, but I have grown so cold intolerant, I can barely stand to go out in it with the dog.  The ice that fell on top of the snow made it really difficult for the little guy to get out there and take care of business.  Luckily, I cleared some furniture out of the way and we now have a clear shot from my chair in the living room to the door out into the laundry room, so we’re playing ball that way.  Here is how we started off:

Winter wonderland 2 Winter wonderlandStorm 2

 

And now we have slid on into this:

Back deck icicles Friday Fireplace chimney Frozen leaf buds Icicle fence Power lines bending trees

 

Two snow storms followed by an ice storm (still in progress).  Unfortunately, I have a huge silver maple tree in the back yard.  It managed to lose a good chunk of itself a bit ago without taking out the power lines right below it.

First limb down

 

But then, about 20 minutes ago, the cats came tearing out of the back bedroom, and I went to investigate what spooked them.  Another branch fell and this time took a line with it.  I’m assuming it was the cable line, because I still have power and internet (internet is through a phone line).  I’ve called the power company because the next branch is bowing badly and I can imagine that loss of power is not far off.  The ice continues to form as rain hits all the frozen surface here.

I’m off to sew while I still can.  Why did I not buy that treadle machine last summer?  And the little bewildered pup will continue to root up the snow with his adorable nose!

Ozzie snow nose