The January Blues

I seem to have lost all zest for life.  Well, not really, but I can feel January weighing on me like the frozen foggy miasma it generally is.  Last year I got to spend part of January in Hawaii, so I spent a little over a week escaping this gray, damp, penetrating cold.  It can wear on you and, when you’re already in a bit of quilting burn-out, it can get depressing.  I have to admit that I’ve been escaping by playing hooky.  I go for walks with the dog . . . yes, I know, that seems strange, because I have to go out into that frozen gray cloud to do it, and by going to the movies with friends.  That can always add a bit of cheer to any day.  Next up is The Secret Life of Walter Mitty.  From the trailers I’ve seen, I think it may help to lift those January blues.

I have been doing some quilting.  I know most of you who come here to read about that have been wondering when I’ll get back to it again.  It’s been on-going, but I’ve had nothing really notable to share with you.  That may be another part of the doldrums.  Quilts with hugely waving borders, saggy middles that resemble craters from badly done bias piecing, mitered corners that should probably never have been attempted.  I think I need to get back to piecing some of my own things.  I’m very good, and if I were to have some of my own things to quilt, it would, no doubt make me happier.

The good news is, the days are getting so much longer.  The sun is up before eight and goes down after five, so we have more than nine hours of daylight.  I will dream of spring and summer coming, to the days so full of light and time to accomplish all the things that won’t fit into days of darkness.

In the meanwhile, can someone hook up a large fan and blow the fog out of this valley?  I’d really appreciate it.

autzen in the fog

2 thoughts on “The January Blues

  1. I’m sorry Linda. I remember how dark and rainy it was in the winter there. Of course I was in my 20’s and it didn’t bother me as much then as it would now. I don’t really have any suggestions to help, can only offer my sympathy. We are having some sunny days, but it is windy and cold. My old bones don’t like cold weather anymore, it seems. LOL If you can afford the time, piece something easy and quilt that. Want me to send you some to quilt? I don’t do wavy borders or have D cups in the middle either. 😀 Sending good wishes and rays of sunshine!

    • It’s really not terrible. I think when I was still working, I didn’t mind the cold and gray days, because I was miserable in the office. Now that I’m home all the time, I want warmth and daylight. Actually, I think I would be a whole lot happier if it would just rain. We had our driest year in recorded history last year, and we really need the rain.

Leave a Reply

