I’ve been out walking

Sorry that I haven’t posted much lately.  As you can see by the Fitbit stats, I’ve been out walking some miles lately.  I swore I would take the day off yesterday, but the sun came out again, and I couldn’t resist.  It is shining faintly today and I am feeling a pull to go out, but I need to get back to quilting, so I have promised myself (and Ozzie) that we won’t go.  Besides, I was supposed to clean and organize the spare bedroom so I can paint it, but I’ve been so tired from all the walking the past few days, I’ve gotten very little of that done.

Since I shared photos of the fog with you the last time, I thought I would show you how Eugene looks in the winter when the sun is shining.

autzen in the fog autzen sun

 

As you can see, Autzen stadium looks a lot different in the sunshine.

heron

 

A heron sunning itself on a mossy log in the middle of the pond

hooded merganser

 

I’m not a birding expert, but I think this may be a hooded merganser.  Generally, we have a large mallard population, but these little fellows seem to have arrived in great numbers lately.  There were a few in the pond, but most, like this fellow, were in the canal along which we walk.

wading heron

 

This heron was wading rapidly across the canal.  I think he may have noticed that I had a dog with me and was determined to reach a hiding place before we got too close.

hiding heron

 

He seems to think he is quite well-hidden here.

I5

 

Our walk takes us down under the Interstate 5 bridge, newly built and just reopened last summer.  We were on our way back to the park here when it occurred to me that I should take some photos of the artwork under the bridge for the next time I post about a walk.  It’s surprising that they actually invested quite a bit in some nice art that not too many people would see.

autzen footbridge

 

Coming back up along the Willamette River, you can see the Autzen Stadium footbridge that joins the campus (to the south) with Autzen Stadium.  This bridge is, of course, quite busy on game days.  Ozzie and I walk under it on the right side there before getting back into Alton Baker Park.

Canada geese

 

A very small portion of a flock of Canada Geese in the park.  They are lovely to look at, but unfortunately, they leave the trails quite a minefield with their droppings.  Years ago, the city hired dogs to chase them out of the park because they were making such a mess.  We are now much more hospitable to them, either because it is PC, or because they realized that resistance was futile.

sunsetAnd, at the end of a beautiful sunny day, we have the beautiful sunset, taken from the not-so-lovely vantage of over the fence of my back yard.

Fitbit stats (I hope) will now be confined to once a week on this page.  I think they’re really cluttering up the view, and my steps are likely to take a dive as I plunge back into the pile of quilts.  It’s also supposed to rain over the next few days.  That doesn’t usually stop us from walking, but it does make it slightly easier to stay indoors.

 

One thought on “I’ve been out walking

  1. Love the pictures, thanks for taking us along! The stadium sure does look very different in the sunshine. As I understand it, it is a federal felony to kill or injure a Canadian Goose, because they are on the endangered species list. I heard about a golfer who shot one on a golf course in NC, who was sentenced to 20 years in a Fed Pen. I think that the same goes for the Great Blue Herons. We had someone shoot one on the lake here, and they went to jail. The geese really do put out a lot of ….. excrement. I went to MQS in KC when it was in the office park place. There was a lot of what I thought was cat’s poo, but one of the guys working at the hotel said it was from the geese. They had a guy detailed to clean it up everyday. I still think that they are pretty and like them. Glad that you are getting some sun! Take care.

Leave a Reply

