New Year’s Traditions/Superstitions

I don’t really make resolutions at the New Year any more.  As the years have gone by, I’ve learned the things on which I need to work, or I’ve accepted the things I cannot change.  I have, however, heard many folks say that what you do on New Year’s Day is what you will be doing for the rest of the year.  I’ve made a good list of possibilities as to how I will be spending the year.

We started with the usual let the dog out, make coffee, give the kitties some treats, let the dog in, read email and surf a little Facebook while drinking morning coffee.  Then I made chicken soup out of the chicken I boiled last night, cut up the rest of the holiday ham and packaged it in small food saver packages for ham and eggs or soup and put those in the freezer.  I got a few things that were in danger of becoming biological experiments out of the refrigerator, disposed of them, took the trash out, but stopped at the litter box and cleaned that on the way.  I then went upstairs, took the LeaderGrips leaders off my quilting machine, zipped the take-up and quilt top leaders together, rolled them back and forth several times, and then sprayed them down with water.  I left them to dry while keeping them quite taut.  In a few minutes, I’ll go up and repeat the process with the take-up and quilt backing leaders.  With a 14′ table, the middle of the leaders can get stretched out while the outer edges get a little flappy from smaller quilts not using the total length of the rollers.  This will just help to square things up.  I am also considering making new small leaders for the LeaderGrip tubes.  The ones I have just aren’t all that neat.

After that, Ozzie and I went to the dog park (see photos in the previous post), went for a 4 mile walk in the pea soup fog, and then came home to hot chicken soup.  I’m still not warm, so I’m on the couch under a quilt that I just took out of the dryer.  After I go straighten/stretch the remaining leader, I intend to go out to the kitchen table and do a little sewing.  I’ve got my bag of UFOs all ready to go.

So, I now have a whole variety of activities, some fun, some not, with which to occupy myself for the rest of the year!   I hope you all gave yourself a good variety of activities today, just in case the saying is true.  Although I don’t enjoy the cleaning activities, I made sure to throw a few of them into the day, as I do need to clean this place much more frequently.

Leave a Reply

