New Year’s Pea Soup

No, I’m not talking about what we had for lunch or dinner, I’m talking about the Outer-Limits-type fog we had today.  It’s supposed to stick around for a couple of days.  Actually, we do generally get a lot of fog in January, and often it happens when the temps are below freezing.  When the frozen fog happens, you can walk outside and instantly turn into a frost-coated popsicle.  Fortunately, today we were up to a blistering 38° so, while it was chilly, we were spared of looking like Frosty the Snowman.

Autzen Stadium (home of the UO Ducks) looked like a space ship coming out of it’s landing fumes when we went to the dog park today.

autzen in the fog

 

Of course, this didn’t stop a little ball-crazy dog from running, running, running, and chasing the ball, followed by a quick dip in the pool.

cold wet dog

 

I don’t know how he can bear to lie down in the water when it’s nearly freezing out, but he gets really upset if someone had dumped the water out of the pool.  I always have to fill it up for him so he can get in.

We followed up an hour of playing ball with a four mile walk.  Despite my long underwear (top and bottom), insulated boots, super insulated coat, wool hat, gloves and mittens over the top, I was still freezing when we got home and I’m still trying to warm up.  I’m lounging on the couch now under a quilt I just took out of the dryer, so I think I may thaw out in a half hour or so.  I really hope that we’ll figure out what it is that causes me to have an unreliable body thermostat!

Leave a Reply

