New beginnings

Here we are on the brink of a new year, a new opportunity, a new chance to start again.  However, isn’t it just another day?  Doesn’t each day hold the promise of a new beginning from the moment you open your eyes?  Certainly, it does.  On this last day of the year, we all think about new beginnings, things that didn’t go so well in the last year that we want to try over differently, or that we may want to avoid altogether.  Or we think about new things we might want to try, perhaps things we put on our bucket list.

I was invited out this evening and had really intended to go, but all day long I’ve found a growing anxiety about drunk people out on the road, things I still need to do at home, and just a general desire to stay in where it’s warm and cozy.  Maybe I’m getting old, or maybe I’m just learning to be more vocal about the things I enjoy and don’t enjoy.  I’m not going out.  I’m staying home and probably enjoying the last night basking in the glow of my Yule tree (I intend to take it down tomorrow).

At any rate, I wish you all the happiest of New Years’ celebrations, and hope you will find 2014 full of joy and good health.

Image courtesy of webneel.com

Image courtesy of webneel.com

2 thoughts on “New beginnings

  1. Wishing you a joyful, healthy and prosperous 2014. I agree that each day is a new start. So maybe a new year is like a clean sheet of paper to put your new paragraphs on. (smile) This last year was horribly hard for me, but I do rejoice that I have been able to see the blessings that have come with each trial. Although the price for those blessings was more than I would have agreed to pay. I am so looking forward to 2014, may it be a wonderful year. Hope that you have a cozy and warm celebration with you furry family. Always sending you best wishes. Sara

Leave a Reply

