Imagination

Just in from seeing The Hobbit:  The Desolation of Smaug.

Not my photo.  This is a movie poster available on line through one of the fan sites, but no doubt originally from Wingnut films.

Not my photo. This is a movie poster available on line through one of the fan sites, but no doubt originally from Wingnut films.

I imagine JRR Tolkien is rolling in his grave, and this Tolkien fan is rolling her eyes.  While I prefer the story in its original state, I will admit that the film was very entertaining, although some of the action scenes were so jam-packed that you couldn’t possibly taken them in entirely.  No doubt fodder for getting you to buy the DVD so you can slow them down and take in each nuance.  I must say, the new Legolas (yes, it’s still Orlando Bloom) was not looking nearly as good-looking as the LOTR Legolas.  I had forgotten what a hottie Richard Armitage (Thorin) is, and I had totally overlooked what an absolute doll Aidan Turner (Kili) is.  If you have to watch a good book being murdered, it’s soothing to have some nice eye candy on the journey.  Oh . . . the dragon was bitchin’.

While I weep for the original tale, I must say well done on the film, Peter Jackson (yes, I spotted you hanging out in front of the Prancing Pony at the opening of the film).

Leave a Reply

