When in Rome

As many of you know, over the years I have attended many a quilt show, taken a plethora of classes, and amassed an ungodly amount of quilting toys.  A few years ago, I took a class on dye painting and, of course, had to buy all of the supplies.  They have sat, pretty much unused, in my laundry room closet.  Each winter, I see so many folks post about snow dyeing.  I had no idea how to do it, but my friend Kim Stotsenberg was lamenting that I had gotten snow today and she hadn’t because she wanted to snow dye.  I asked her for a few tips, and here you have it.  My snow dyeing tub is in my tub, waiting for the snow to melt.  I hope I will get something interesting and that it won’t be just a purple or black mess when it’s all done.  I just used the basics – yellow, cyan, and magenta.  I’m hoping for some purply-reds and greens, but we’ll see!  I guess the waiting is half the fun.

Ice dyeing

2 thoughts on “When in Rome

  1. Linda, How did your snow dying turn out? Did you post a pic and I missed it? I love seeing the different combinations that come from snow dying. Oh, do share!!

    • Actually, it wasn’t something that I really liked, so I don’t even know that I took a picture. You probably need to have a little more info than I do on how to handle dyes properly in snow dyeing. I most likely won’t do it again.

Leave a Reply

