When you’re making plans . . .

I’m not sure of the citation, but as they say, life is what happens when you’re making other plans.  As you know, I spent the weekend taking care of a very sick dog.  Then I spent Monday and most of Tuesday worrying about the little dog in the hospital.  On top of that, there was the quilting machine that continues to break down, the house that’s a total disaster, and it goes on and on.  I’m pretty sure you’ve all been there.  You’re probably had times in your life when things have been much worse.  I know I’ll get through all of this and life will be free and easy again, but for now, things are a bit of a struggle.

On the bright side of things, despite X-rays, blood tests, IV fluids, lots of meds, and a day and a half of hospitalization, but vet bill was only $525.  Ya, that’s a lot of money for me, but for that level of care, it’s pretty much of a bargain.  And, I have my dog home again, and he seems well.  A bit subdued, but after all he’s been through, I guess that’s to be expected.  He seems to be very hungry, but the vet said that after being sick, he had the emptiest digestive tract she’s seen in a long time.  We’re taking the feedings slow, but he seems to be doing well.  Tomorrow, we’ll go of a walk — you may have noticed that the Fitbit stats have been on the nearly non-existent side for the last five or six days.  I may actually stop that posting until life settles down a bit.

My quilting machine has been giving me fits.  I have finally made an appointment to send it back to the factory for a complete overhaul in February.  That was the earliest they could take it.  In the meanwhile, as long as I’m doing all-over patterns using the Intelliquilter, it does just fine.  Well, almost.  I’ve been having this bobbin thread bite-off thing going on that is about to drive me over the edge.  I’ve cleaned, oiled, re-timed, changed the bobbin case a million times, and the problem persists.  I’ve never had this stuff go on for this long.  I’m very grateful to have the IQ to help me finish up quilts for the holidays.

So, that’s been my life in a nutshell for almost the past week.  I know things will get better soon.

Here’s my show-off dog, hefting his idea of a stick, last Friday, just before he got sick.  Like the other one, it was taken with the cell phone, so it’s not the best.  He’ll be back to normal soon, I’m sure.

Ozzie the mighty

3 thoughts on “When you’re making plans . . .

  1. So glad to hear that he’s back home and on the mend. If he had a lot of antibiotics, you might want to see about giving him some probiotics. It will help his digestive system. I am sure that you know all of this, so just a reminder. Any time we or the horses take antibiotics we always take some pros. I eat a lot of yogurt for my probiotics. We have some powdered stuff for the horses.

    Now you are scaring me about the machine. I have a Liberty too. It is sewing alright, but when I am stitching I can hear something bouncing around in the back of the machine. I have taken the back side off, but can’t find anything. I called them and they said to check the bushings. I did and they are fine. Don’t really know what more to do. Figure I will just sew with it till it doesn’t work anymore. Then send it in. Is that very expensive to do? We bought it in 08 and haven’t really had to do anything much to it. However, it doesn’t get used as much as yours does.

    • Mine’s an 04, so it’s been here and used much more. I’m beginning to think I won’t be able to send it back, but I know it could really use the overhaul. Too many expenses piling up and I know it will be expensive just to ship it, never mind pay for all the work.

      • Would you please send me your email address. I want to send something privately. I think that you can see mine, am I right?

Leave a Reply

