Nose to the needle

As you can see from my Fitbit stats, I didn’t move much yesterday.  Why?  I have been working feverishly to finish the custom quilt I have had on the frame for far too long.  There are a few reasons it’s been there for this length of time.  It calls for some complicated quilting, the borders are an unusual size and are not equal all the way around, and, of course, I’ve run into some personal disasters while it’s been awaiting finishing.  Spending hours on the phone with the doctor’s office and the insurance company has not been fun.  Not to mention that when I get stressed out, I really just want to go in my room, pull the shades, and curl up in a ball.  I’ve done my best this time, not to feel sorry for myself, and I’ve made a habit of going out and tearing up the pavement over the past few weeks instead of giving in to depression.

I realize that in the grand scheme of things, my problems don’t really amount to much.  I’m very grateful for my good life, and I’m doing my best to just get on with it.  Hopefully, this quilt will be off the frame before lunch tomorrow morning, but then again, I’ve got a couple more medical coverage-related calls to make in the morning, so you never know.  I’m really looking forward to doing some edge-to-edge design quilts and to having a little more free time in my schedule!

4 thoughts on “Nose to the needle

  1. I am sooo glad to hear that you aren’t “giving in to depression”. It is hard given what you are dealing with, just remember “Noli nothis permittere te terere”. (I know very little Latin, but this is the best translation I could find.) Sending good wishes you way! Sara

Leave a Reply

