This old house

Years ago, buying your own home was supposed to be a good idea.  Perhaps it still is, although many financial advisers will tell you that it’s not always the best thing to do.  In my case, I think it may have been a huge mistake.  Not only did I buy a house, I bought an old house.  When you’re a single woman, there is no one to do the repairs unless you have substantial money to hire someone.  I do not have substantial funds, so I have to do the work myself.  I do enjoy fixing things and putting things together, but I also have a rather full life with many other things to do, and spending a day repairing things can really be a drag.

My kitchen faucet has decided to just shut itself off.  It will come back on every now and then, but when you’re trying to wash dishes or, most importantly, fill the coffee pot, ending up with no water is NOT good.  I can, of course, run in and get water from the bathroom, but not everything fits in the bathroom sink.  I have Moen faucets in my house.  Yes, you may buy them for looks, but you certainly don’t buy them for life, as the ad says.  There are cartridges inside them that tend to break.  The one in the shower broke last year and caused me all sorts of grief and expense.  Now it’s the cartridge in the kitchen that has broken.  I couldn’t find my faucet on-line as their webpage only lists current models.  I took the faucet head off the faucet and took it to the home improvement store last night, hoping they could help.  Well, no . . . Moen changed all their cartridges five or six years ago, and I’d have to take a picture of the faucet, send it in, ask them to investigate the model, find the cartridge, and then pay for a new one.  You know what?  I don’t have time for all this falderal.  I figure, if it is anything like the shower faucet, it’s going to cost me about $60 for a new cartridge, so, on the way home, I had already promised Ozzie we’d go to Costco and get treats.  I wandered down the home goods aisle and happened to find a very nice faucet for under $60, so I bought it and will be installing it soon.  As soon as I a) complete enough quilting that I don’t feel so far behind, or b) the lack of consistent water in the kitchen sink drives me over the edge.

faucet

Sometimes I really wish I could just call the landlord!

2 thoughts on “This old house

  1. I hear ya! At the same time, I don’t want to be anyone’s landlord again. We had a house we rented out when we were sent overseas. We never hesitated to make repairs when we knew about them. (Had a real estate co manage it for us.) We kept up the twice annual check up on the heating/air system.($150 each time they came.) There was a big storm there and the power was out for a few days, and the tenants wanted us to pay for a hotel for them. No, not part of the deal. We came home to find all the plants overgrown, almost blocking the doors. The front door had been kicked in at sometime and temp repairs made. Huge holes in the drywall. (Like someone had put their fist through it.) And a leak under the kitchen sink that went unreported for at least a year. (Had we known it would have been fixed.) Did they get their deposit back, nope. Took all of it and more to fix everything. (And dealing with a very angry husband.) I can understand that having to fix things yourself is a bummer, but “good on you” that you can! I can tell you that having a DH doesn’t always guarantee that he will fix it! So you should be proud and feeling competent that you CAN do a lot of things.

    • Thanks Sara! I do tend to gripe about this sort of thing. Probably because the need for repairs arises when I have so many other things to do. Lots of quilts piling up and with the unexpected doctor bills, I can really use the money. So, it comes down to, what’s more important? Paying the bills or having water in the kitchen sink? Ah, if only life were so simple for some. I really need to stop and count my blessings.

Leave a Reply

