Playing (or not) with the big dogs

The rain returned to Eugene overnight.  Not a lot of rain, but it’s wet and intermittently cloudy.  We were totally out of dog treats here at home, so I told Ozzie that if he’d go with me to Costco, I’d take him to the dog park on the way home.  As you can see, it was a lot less crowded today than yesterday:

dp oct7

 

Costco was a whole lot more crowded than this!

Anyway, shortly after I took this picture, I heard the gate bang and another dog and owner came in.  Havoc (appropriately named dog) is a huge German Shepherd, but she is really a sweet dog and likes to run around after Ozzie.  Well, a lot of the dogs like to chase Ozzie – especially the herd dogs (Australian Shepherds, Corgis, Blue Heelers, etc).  They all think he’s a small sheep.  Today, Havoc’s owner (nice man to whom I have spoken several times, but I don’t know his name) threw his dog’s ball at about the same time I threw Ozzie’s.  Ozzie ran to get the ball, but got Havoc’s instead.  This would not have been a problem, but he took exception to the fact that Havoc took his ball, and he decided he was going to get it back!  A fight ensued, broken up by two very worried and embarrassed dog owners.  Havoc probably has a good 60-80 pounds on Ozzie.  She’s a BIG dog, and he only weighs 20 pounds.  He ended up being okay, just totally terrified, nearly jumping into my arms when it was all over.  We’ve had a discussion about playing with our own ball and dogs of our own size, but I don’t know how much of an impression that made.  I think we’ll do our best to avoid Havoc in the future.

4 thoughts on “Playing (or not) with the big dogs

  1. That’s rough. I read somewhere to not bring toys to the dog park because of them protecting their toys, but I didn’t realize it really could get that intense. I’ll be careful not to bring toys in the future unless the park is empty. Sorry you went through that and thanks for the real-life (not just in a book) warning!

Leave a Reply

