A little of nature’s beauty

When I first moved to Oregon, long, long ago, I was a bit disappointed in the quality of the fall colors here.  I grew up in New England — well known for spectacular autumn displays. In Oregon, the trees are green.  In autumn, they just sort of turned brown and fell off.  Well, in town anyway.  Up in the forests, there are lots of vine maple and other trees that can put on a spectacular show in the fall.

Over the past ten years, many of our street trees have been replaced with more colorful trees.  The two trees in front of my house used to be hawthorns, but they eventually decayed and the city cut them down and removed them.  They then allowed me to choose two other trees to plant.  I chose Norwegian Sunset Maples which, it turns out, are not all that colorful.  Other trees in town though, are putting on a very nice display.  I thought I’d share some near the dog park that Ozzie and I get to see every day.

trees

Fall trees 1

fall tree

fall leaves 2Now these would all have looked much prettier if the sun had been shining when I was taking the pictures, but it’s been a bit cloudy and rainy here lately.  That’s fine with me.  We really needed the rain.  It’s also great quilting weather, and I’ve been extremely busy, hence the less frequent posts.  I’m trying to get some client quilts done and out of here before I go off to the Pacific NW Quilt Festival (MQX) next week.

Leave a Reply

