More joys of home ownership

I have been glorying in the return of the rain to Oregon.  It was a long, dry, hot, and eventually, crispy summer.  Not that I didn’t enjoy the beautiful weather, but it gets old.  I’ve been enjoying watching the grass turn green again, the fall crocus popping from the ground, the birds playing and bathing in the puddles.  What could happen to dampen (pun intended) my joy in the wonderful rain?  The realization that the sump pump is not running.  You may remember my forays into plumbing last year, where I spent days under the house installing a new sump pump.  Now I must battle the sticky orb spider webs and crawl back under there to see what’s going on.  Hopefully, it’s as simple as a flip of the ground fault interruptor.  I hope it won’t be a major job.  The good news, however, is that despite the fairly steady rain, the bathroom ceiling is not leaking this year!

Yes, there are times when I really wish I could call the landlord, but I do like knowing that if I decide to paint, remodel, knock out a wall, or change a light fixture, I don’t have to ask anyone.  And I’m proud to say that I can handle almost all of the problems myself.

Leave a Reply

