A new toy – er, Tool! Creative TOOL, for me.

I know many of you love your Go or Accuquilt Studio cutters, and that’s really cool.  When they first came out, I was interested, but I found being limited to the size of the die a bit of a concern to me.  I can cut a lot of my basic shapes (strips, triangles, squares, etc) by using a much less expensive June Tailor Shape Cut Ruler.  I wanted something that would cut shapes – appliqué shapes – in any size I wanted.  Dream on, right?  Well, at Spring Quilt Market in Portland, I breezed by a tiny booth where people were watching this little printer.  A few booths later, I thought, “hey, what the heck was that thing?” so I turned around and went back.  It turned out to be my dream machine.  Well, maybe.  I was still skeptical.  I watched them demo the thing, took the pamphlet, went home, and have been trying to find out all I could.  Then, my local (well, Portland) wholesaler was having a Trends show this weekend.  And, guess what?  The people who make my little dream machine were there!  I took my list of questions and concerns with me, sat down and talked to them for a bit, and I came home with this beauty.  A Silhouette Cameo.  It’s like a printer, but it has blades and cuts all sorts of media – card stock, vinyl, freezer paper, FABRIC!  I will mainly use it for fusible appliqué, but can just as easily quickly cut out freezer paper or stabilizer for turned-edge appliqué.  I can also use it to make my own greeting cards, etc.  I am super excited to get started with it, but my longarm has been down for over a week and the part has finally arrived so I must repair and catch up before I can play.  I am so excited to finally own one of these gems!

It is Mac or PC compatible, will cut any font on your computer, you can buy all sorts of images, or use the design software (included with the machine) to draw your own designs.  You can also scan images into your computer and cut those too.  The design possibilities are nearly endless.

Here’s a link to the video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E16jPYtFBa0&feature=player_embedded

and here’s a picture of the Cameo.

silhouette-cameo_02-xl

4 thoughts on “A new toy – er, Tool! Creative TOOL, for me.

    • I can’t play with it too much just yet. My longarm has been broken for the past week and I just got the part and fixed it today. I have to get a couple quilts done and out of here before I get to play, but I am anxious to start! I did take the time to watch the little instructional video this morning, and I think I’m going to love this thing!

  1. Hi Linda, Have you played with your new toy yet? I broke down and got the GO! and one for my Mom (she has SO many scraps). I don’t use it that much but, now I’m between jobs having just moved to Arizona so I should be using it more and more. Just curious.

    • I’m embarrassed to admit I haven’t had time to play with it yet. I am, however, coming to the end of the custom quilts for awhile (mostly all-overs left to do) and the weather won’t be as nice for rambling around outside, so I may get it all hooked up and running. I have watched the videos, followed a bit of their blog, etc, and I think I’m going to love it!

Leave a Reply

