Who was that masked woman?

I’m not sure what’s gotten into me lately.  Perhaps it’s the change in the way the light comes into the house at this time of year.  Maybe it’s a bit more clouds in the sky . . . even though they’re not dropping much rain.  I suddenly seem to have taken on this domestic persona.  As you know, I’ve told you all I am the world’s worst housekeeper.  I hate cleaning!  I’m allergic to dust and have always just found it advisable to leave it alone.  Stirring it up makes me sneeze!  Well, okay, if I use a Swiffer duster, it tends to collect in the fibers, so I guess that’s not really a good excuse anymore, right?

Well, as you know, I’ve gotten some new Ikea furniture for the sewing room and have bought my paint.  I’ve begun getting all the junk out of the room.  There is a ton of it.  Some of it will be given to local charities, some will be tossed, and the rest of it will go into storage containers or the drawers of the new desk or chest.  I’ve begun cleaning up the rest of the house too, and I am appalled by the dust elephants I’m finding behind things.  I have neglected my house for a very, very long time.  I think for about six years — back to when I fell and ruptured the disks in my back.  I’m coming up on the fifth anniversary of my fusion surgery, and am just in awe of what a long slog back to the surface this recovery has been.  I thought it a bit weird that after surgery, I got questionnaires from the surgeon’s office for months and months.  They were part of a study in PTSD following spinal surgery.  I thought it a bit silly at the time (well, not right after my second surgery and my screaming fit on awakening), but now I can really see how this has all affected me over the past few years.  Hopefully, there is more recovering to be done, as things are far from perfect, but I hope I’m getting back to some semblance of alertness and functioning well.

While trying to keep an eye on Ozzie after his surgery, I’ve had to stay downstairs, so there’s been no quilting going on.  So, in addition to doing some cleaning, I’ve gotten so into the domestic thing that I canned a bunch of stuff this weekend!  Small scale compared to some, I know, but since I don’t have my own garden and have to go out to the farm stand, I’m keeping it a bit low key.  I’ve made six pints of dilly green beans, six pints of kosher dill pickles (okay, I cheated and used the store packet of spices for these), and six quarts and six half pints of tomato sauce.

Canning 2013

 

Pardon the funky kitchen in the background.  I live in an old falling-down house, but I’m proud of my output for the weekend!  I hope my energy holds up.

One thought on “Who was that masked woman?

  1. Congratulations on your new-found – no, re-found domesticity! I think your canning is perfect … after all, there is only you to please, right? And I am very very pleased about your return to near full function. I know it has been a long haul and I empathize. Hope Ozzie heals well doesn’t have to go through that pain again. Darned foxtails!

Leave a Reply

