Totally knackered

It has been a very long and productive day.  For those of you who don’t know, I had a partial spinal fusion almost five years ago.  I knew the recovery would be long and hard, but I don’t think I realized until this year, just how long it has taken me to get back up to speed.  I think perhaps I thought I was just old and my condition was as good as it was going to get, but I seem to be steadily improving still.  Not bad for an old lady.

My smartphone (Droid Razr) died on Thursday.  I decided just to go back to a dumb phone, since I had a few of them lying around, and the lack of data plan would save me quite a bit of money each month.  Well, I made it only about 18 hours before I realized that I couldn’t do without the smartphone.  Fortunately, Costco had a Samsung Galaxy S3 for a great price ($30) so I went and got that yesterday.  I got it functioning, transferred all my apps, etc., but waited till this morning to do the personalization stuff – ringtone, etc.  When I finished that, I cleaned the kitchen, went upstairs and did a little quilting, came downstairs and put in a load of laundry, proceeded through the laundry room out into the garage and began cleaning . . . after a few hours, I had the car loaded with a bunch of garage debris, so I loaded Ozzie into the car and we went to the country landfill.  I recycled a bunch of stuff, disposed of the garbage, and then took the dog to the dog park.  We played there for about an hour and an half, then went to the car wash, washed the car, ran home jumped in the shower, then I had to jump back into the car and run down to the Quilt Patch to meet my client Jessie.  Once I got home, I realized I hadn’t had a thing to eat all day except for two cups of coffee, so I made a nice tuna salad and finally sat down and ate.  I am now so tired and sore I can barely move.  I only know this because I just sauntered (very slowly and painfully) up to the Little Y to get a beer.  Just something about yard/garage/filthy work that requires the consumption of a beer.  I bought one bottle of Pyramid Curve Ball — a blonde ale — and I can pronounce it perfect for the occasion.

I’m ready to recline in my chair, turn on the TV and watch the news, followed by turning on the Roku box to watch a movie or episode of Masterpiece.  I prefer British murder mysteries (especially over such delicacies as Survivor, Dancing with the Stars, America’s Got Talent, etc.).  Actually, I can’t even believe that people actually watch the stuff that’s on TV nowadays, so the Roku box allows me to watch what I want, and affects my choice of words to describe exhaustion.

A happy weekend to you all.  Mine’s off to a roaring start!

One thought on “Totally knackered

Leave a Reply

