That Hobbit eating schedule

Those of you who have blogs will know that you can see your stats every day and know what people read when they come to visit.  I get a lot of hits on the post I wrote years ago about adopting a Hobbit’s Eating Schedule.  I had gastric bypass surgery in July of 2007 and lost a total of 86 pounds.  I’ve gained some of that back in the last few years.  Some of that naturally happens, and some of it is because I’ve developed a rather rare complication of RNY Gastric Bypass – something called nesidioblastosis.  Basically, it starts as something called dumping syndrome, which is fairly common among gastric bypass patients, then it progresses to little insulin-producing (benign) tumors growing in the pancreas, and before you know it, you end up with a diet of basically protein and salad greens if you want to prevent your blood sugar from taking a dive.  Low blood sugar can be very dangerous.  If it goes too low, you can end up in a coma and die.  Normal blood sugar is between 70-110.  I’ve had readings as low as 23 — yep, that’s in the coma and die territory, and it’s beginning to worry me.  So is the constant hunger caused by the hypoglycemia, and the pain in the butt of struggling to find something to eat that won’t make me sick.

So, tomorrow morning I have an appointment to see a surgeon at OHSU to see about having my surgery revised so that I might eat a bit more normally.  I’ve been to two endocrinologists who specialize in nesidioblastosis, and the meds they had for me did not help.  My best hope is to have the bottom of my stomach re-attached.  Studies show that this generally fixes the problem.  I don’t know if my insurance will help me to pay for this, but the doc seems to think that the severity of my situation means that this is now medically necessary.  I do hope he’s right.  So, off I go to see if I can get help with this.

I know – I did this to myself, I should be grateful that I can eat, that I have plenty of food to eat, and that I’m not starving.  I don’t have cancer, and I’ll be fine either way.  I’d just like to be more comfortable, and I’d like to stop worrying about low blood sugar.

Leave a Reply

