What are you reading?

Trying to keep up with my friend Judy Laquidara over on Patchwork Times.  On Tuesdays, she asks us what we’re reading.  I just started reading (or listening to) The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett.  pillars

I really fell out of reading when I started quilting more (and incessantly going to the dog park), so I get my books on Audible.com.  Today, when I was redeeming my points, I saw that I can get this Whisper-sync thing where I can get the book on Audible and on my Samsung tablet (with Kindle App), and be able to listen while I’m quilting, and then it will let me open the book to the same spot on my tablet when I want to sit with my feet up and read.  How cool is that?  Well, I know it works if you buy the Kindle book first, but I’m not sure if the reverse is true or how much extra it costs.  I’ll check it out when I have more time.

I’ll let you know what I think of the book after I’ve gotten into it or after I’ve finished it.  Right now I have to say I was fairly bored listening to the lengthy preface, but I suppose it was good background to the story.  We’ll see!

5 thoughts on “What are you reading?

  1. I actually read this book last summer, and it was fantastic! I happen to love Historical Fiction, and this one is right up there with the best. No wonder it is a best seller. Hang in there Linda, there are some spots where it might seem a bit slow or overly detailed, but I think you’ll get into it soon enough.

  2. I like the sound of that audible/kindle cooperation! I often listen to DVD books on the 7 hour round trip to the Nashville temple, and then I have one or two disks left that I have to listen to on the computer or while I’m driving around town. I’d love it if I could come in and just pick up the book and read it!

  3. I think the Whisper Sync is a cool thing. I’ve heard of it, but don’t have the Kindle that it works with. I just bought myself a Kindle PaperWhite a few months ago and love it. I’ve always wondered if Ken Follett’s books were good. Will look forward to hearing your review!

  4. My Kindle has Text to Speech, if I am knitting or sewing I can listen to the book and read later. I really like that feature so I would probably not buy both. I have seen the offer when buying a book.

Leave a Reply

