Off to a good start

It’s been a really good day, and it’s not over yet.  I got up fairly early, even though I was up long past the new year rolling in.  I had a bit of frustration in the morning, as EQ was not playing nicely with my printer.  However, the quilt I designed was very simple, so I figured I didn’t really need to print out the specifics, I could simply get to work on it without a lot of measurements.

So, I got in the shower on this dark and dreary morning and after getting all wet and soaped up, I realized that it was a little too bright in there — because there was no towel hanging on the shower door!  Ack!  And, there was no towel there, because I had put all the towels (operative word here is ALL) in the wash yesterday and hadn’t put them in the dryer yet.  Well, there was still the hand towel by the sink, so I had to dry off it that.

I got upstairs and cut out all my strips and borders, came downstairs and wound bobbins for the trusty Bernina, and had to look at those very sad puppy eyes staring at me.  So, I took Ozzie over to the UO and threw the ball for him for nearly an hour.  As soon as I got home, I pitched in to start sewing my strip sets, and got a lot of them done.  I’ll keep sewing throughout the evening.

My stomach growled a few times, so I decided it might be nice to whip up some nice hot split pea soup, using some of the leftover ham from Christmas.  To tell the truth, I’m freezing from going out in the cold to throw that ball.  I got the soup going on the stove and then got some toe warmers and hand warmers out to thaw out my fingers and toes.  So, the soup is on the simmer, and as soon as my fingers warm up a bit, I’ll be back to sewing!

Oh!  I also made six more snowflakes and three more ornament covers — might as well get a jump on next Christmas, no?  Let’s see how long I can keep this pace up.

2 thoughts on “Off to a good start

    • Ack! Busted! No – I didn’t. I think I’d best wash them again. They’ve been in there over 24 hours and it’s a front loader, so they’ll probably smell funny if I don’t. I’ll go do it now! Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

