Happy New Year!

I’m having a quiet evening in with the furkids for our New Year’s Celebration.  I’ve whipped up a very simple pattern to use for sewing a Quilt of Valor tomorrow, along with Judy Laquidara of Patchwork Times.  I’ve quilted many QOV’s for local groups, but I’ve never made one myself (although I did donate a small quilt that I had made for another purpose years ago).  It seems to be a wonderful way to ring in the new year.  I’ll be making a simple nine-patch alternating with plain blocks and adding a couple of simple borders.  I’ll quilt it nicely and donate it to the ladies in the Brownsville area who often have me quilt their QOVs.

Ozzie reminded me yesterday that the best way to take him out to play without the mud of the dog park is to take him to the UO campus where there are lush green lawns instead of mud pits.  I don’t know if I had truly forgotten all about this, or if I just tend to avoid the University like the plague.  While I did not enjoy my employment there, I did indeed enjoy the lovely campus, and Ozzie has been delighted that he gets to chase the ball and then does not need to take a bath when he gets home.  He ran for all he was worth today — takes him almost an entire hour of chasing that ball to get tired — so he has already gone to bed and is passed out in my room.  I, on the other hand, am still awake, as I know the fireworks and gun shots will no doubt wake me at midnight anyway.  Truth be told, I rarely go to sleep before midnight anyway.

So, I wish you all enough for the new year.  Enough money to do the things you want, enough love to feel your value to your friends, enough joy to make your heart sing, and enough wonder at the universe to keep your mind sharp and agile.  As you can see, we have one boy here who is very happy for new beginnings.  I share this joy.

Ozzie New Year

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Linda, what a lovely wish! I wish you the same, along with enough energy and good health to accomplish all that you want to in 2013. Enough love to sustain you, and enough time to keep posting here as I really like to read your blog. 🙂 Sara

    • Thank you, Sara! Energy is the thing. I tend to fall asleep when I eat and, no matter how hard I try, I end up having to eat! I’m trying to stay on my feet, so I don’t nod off so easily.

Leave a Reply

