Are you happy?

Someone on one of my quilting groups brought this up last week.  Are you happy?  Is your life a good life?  Are you in the place you thought you would be at this stage of your life?

I have a small plaque in my kitchen that says, “Happiness is wanting what you have.”  I would say that I am fairly happy.  The things and people in my life are quite satisfactory.  Probably the only thing I would change is that I would like to have a male companion with whom I could share my golden years.  There are times, however, when I realize that I’m actually very lucky not to have anyone.  Relationships require a lot of work and, after so many years of being single, I’m not sure I’m equipped for romance.  Might be fun to try, though.  In the meanwhile, I’m content with my life.  I’m not rich, I’m not famous, and I’m not the toast of the town, but I am happy.  How about you?

6 thoughts on “Are you happy?

  1. I am happy too. I do have my devoted husband Mark and my daughter Jess to help with that and I have a good job in a small company working with people I really like. I have lots of quilting friends who I have met in the last 8 yrs or more. Yeah, I’m happy. I’m glad you are too.

    • Yep, having great quilting friends like you really helps make life a little sweeter, darlin’! Do you think you might come to MQX in Manchester next spring? I’ve already got a room booked at the Radisson if you need a place to stay!

      • I am definitely thinking about it. Don’t hold the spot for me if you want to book someone else. I won’t know until later in the year if I can go or not. It would be lovely to room with you again….just like old times! Thanks.

      • Wow – you must have been sending me vibes! I was upstairs quilting, looking for a rotary blade, and opened a drawer with all those bobbins I promised you in it. Came down to mail them! ;D

  2. I believe happiness is a state of mind that we can control. I always felt this way, but when I was sick a few years ago it became crystal clear to me that I could be happy despite what was happening to me. I live each day as a treasured gift….

    • I’ve also found this to be true, Ardelle. Each day when I roll out of bed, I can make the decision to be miserable, or I can paint a smile on my face and try to enjoy each and every minute. I do believe it’s 99% attitude!

Leave a Reply

