Home from retreat

Wow.  I thought I was tired before I left!  Well, it’s a good tired.  I sewed, I ripped, I laughed, I ate, I slept, I danced, I sewed some more, I ripped some more, I laughed some more.  I had so much fun.  It snowed!  It was so pretty.

We got there Thursday afternoon and after getting everything set up and ready to go, I was ready to go to bed at 7:30.  I’m usually a night owl, but I’d had such a trying week and then with getting packed up, I had worn myself out.  I went up to the lodge to read, but couldn’t keep my eyes open.  I got in bed but wasn’t comfortable, so kicked off the blankets and pulled my knees up to my chest to pop my back.  I awoke a few hours later with no blankets on.  I think I just passed out as soon as my back was comfortable.  I don’t even remember straightening my legs!

So, for the next three days, I worked on my triple feathered star.  I completed all the units, and got the middle assembled after a bit of a struggle.  Everyone but me thought it looked great.  I nailed each and every one of the feather points, but the star points are a bit wonky on a few of them and the middle has a few puckers that I can’t get to lie quite flat.  I can probably quilt them out, but the more I think of it, I think I’m going to consider this my practice unit and make another.  I’ve got the hang of it now, so I’ll just cut another center and perhaps frog out those 3/8″ half square triangles, as there is nothing wrong with those.  I’m just not real happy with the way it all came together.  The instructions are more visually oriented and, as you might be able to tell, I’m more of a verbal (really?) person.  Anyway, I haven’t unpacked the iron yet, so here it is, looking a bit more pucker-y than it actually is.  The second star unit is not sewn on, just placed so you can see what the next layer is like.  I’m not really sure I like the color arrangement either, so I make take the re-making of the center as a time to re-think the color placement.  Maybe a black and white star is the way to go?  ;D

 

Leave a Reply

