Out of the Pit of Despair

“Are you coming down into the pit?”

“Tyrone, you know how much I love to watch you work, but I have my wedding to plan, my wife to murder, and Guilder to frame for it.”

“Get some rest.  If you haven’t got your health, you haven’t got anything.”

Some of you know that I spout movie dialogue spontaneously.  Something reminds me of a situation and, well, there it is.  I have identified the pit.  It lies at the east end of my sofa.  I spent about 99% of my time there following my spinal fusion surgery and I tend to gravitate there when I need comfort.  So, as of this morning, it is a house rule that I am no longer allowed to sit (or lie) there.  It is also a rule that we go for a walk every (and I mean EVERY) day.  We just got back from a five-miler.  I’m resting for a bit before I hop in the shower.  Since we were gone just slightly over an hour, we were hauling today, and I am whooped.  We also made another change today, although the weather report says we might have to hop backwards a bit.  Yesterday I noticed that I was just sweltering in my parka by the time we got home.  I’d unzipped it all the way, but I was still hot.  So, today we switched to the springtime fleece vest and Gore-tex jacket.  It was better, but since I ran part of the way (shhhhh!  don’t tell anyone . . .  I’m not supposed to run), I was still too hot.  The weather report says, however, that we may have some snow on the valley floor on Saturday night, so I’ll just hang the parka on the doorknob in the spare room for back-up.  So it’s into the shower, do the dishes, and then off to quilt.  I’ve reconciled myself to the thread color and have gotten quite a bit done.  I’d like to be finished by tomorrow, as I have a few more to pop on, but they are quilts where I’m allowed to use my own discretion, so I will thoroughly enjoy doing them (selfish brat, am I not?).

I’ve decided the best way out of the pit is to insist that I climb out of it.  I’m a strong old witch.  I can make myself do anything I want, and I choose not to be miserable.  So – off to have fun.  Oh, my sister will be stopping by later and we may walk to the other yarn shop in town.  I’m not buying anything today, but I can always look.

Oddly enough, after I posted this, when I returned to my homepage, there was this little quote waiting for me:

“Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it.”

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Magic . . . it’s everywhere.

Leave a Reply

