It’s good for what ails you

I’m struggling.  I’ve been awake all day (it’s 5:00 p.m.) — very unusual for me.  I did two loads of laundry, I did the dishes. I went upstairs and cut batting for a quilt and got going on it.  I made my appointment to see the doc tomorrow.  And, I started a vat o’ vitamins . . . chicken soup.

I don’t really have a recipe for chicken soup, but this is generally how I go about it — adding everything to the crockpot.

  • Fresh or frozen boneless, skinless chicken thighs (you can use breasts, but they’re too tough for me)
  • Better Than Bouillon Chicken Base (organic, reduced sodium)
  • Water
  • Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, Thyme, a Bay Leaf, and some ground black pepper (to taste)
  • I don’t even bother to cut up the chicken – it’s going to cook for a long time, so it will shred
  • Let the chicken cook in the bouillon, water, and spices for about four hours
  • Add some barley (I use pearled)
  • Line a large roasting pan with foil, chop and add your vegetables to it (I used carrots, butternut squash, garlic, onion, celery, brussels sprouts) drizzle a small amount of olive oil (EVOO) over the veggies, sprinkle with a small amount of salt, and roast them in the oven at 400° for half an hour.  Add them to the soup.
  • Let the whole mess cook for another few hours

I also added some dried shitake mushrooms to this batch.  They reconstitute fairly easily.  It takes about eight hours, start to finish, but is so worth it.  I generally use about a quarter of the soup (I have a 6-quart crockpot) and freeze the other 3/4 of it for future use.  So, I’ve got a giant vat of antioxidants and protein ready for dinner.  I’m going to try and quilt some more after that, but it will be difficult to stay awake with a tummy full of warm soup.

 

Leave a Reply

