I made it!

I did manage to make it home at about 1:00 p.m. on Friday.  Wow.  It’s only about a 2-hour drive, but it took a bit longer.  Part of the Coast Highway (101) was washed out just south of Newport, so only the north-bound lane was available for travel and I had to wait for the flagger, but that wasn’t bad.  Elk Creek was so high along Highway 20 that it was nearly on the road in several places (but for the grace of a few inches).  I saw several homes that obviously had water in them, folks with driveways that crossed a drainage ditch before the road who obviously would not be going anywhere without a boat for some time, and the Mary’s River really created a lot of flooding in the Corvallis area.  I stopped and had breakfast with my niece in Corvallis.  She attends OSU in their Engineering program, so it was a nice treat for both of us.  I’ll go back up to see her when the weather is better and we have more time to spend together.  My Ozzie and Vince were very happy to see me and, not having slept for a few nights due to the winds slamming the beach house, we all piled onto the couch and slept like the dead for the afternoon.  It will take me a while to readjust my clock, no doubt, but I’m glad to be home.  It was a wonderful and all too exciting quilting retreat.  I got a lot done.  However, it’s always better when you’re able to get out, walk along the beach, see a few gorgeous sunsets, and get a good night’s sleep when you’re there.  Hopefully, our next retreat won’t be quite as exciting.  I’m hoping the weather will be nice later this morning for a walk with Ozzie.  I’ve been cooped-up for too long and really need to get out and put some miles in on the roads around here.  It will feel good to move again!  Night all!

Leave a Reply

