On the mend

Well, physically, anyway.  That fall really took a lot out of me.  I realized yesterday that I must have hit my head also, as I have a very sore bump on my noggin and I had a heck of a headache all day yesterday.  I tried to finish my client’s quilt, but the headache was so bad, I couldn’t concentrate.  Eventually I came downstairs, took a Motrin (not really supposed to take NSAIDS, but sometimes you have to), and I fell asleep on the couch.  I slept for quite a while.  By the time I awoke, I was so stiff I didn’t feel like pulling myself together for the class I was supposed to take today, so I decided not to go.  I needed to work on the quilt, anyway, since I’m behind.  Still a bit stiff and sore today, but I’m moving with a little more ease.

On a personal note, I have now sworn off men for forever.  I really, really wish I was into women.  While I do enjoy my friendships with women, they just don’t blow my skirt up, if you know what I mean.  I find that I have no idea how to communicate with men.  I think I’m kind, I think I’m fun, but I just can’t seem to connect the right way.  I give up.  I suppose I had more than my share of fun when I was a young woman, so perhaps I’ve reached my quota.  So be it.  I’m done.  Unless, of course, any of you happen to know a billionaire in an iron lung who doesn’t believe in pre-nups.  Do they use iron lungs anymore?  Sigh.

We did manage a short walk this afternoon, and a substantial ball-toss in the back yard.  Topped off the day with a magnificent sunset that turned the wispy clouds in the sky the prettiest shades of pink.  Then in the east, rose the most beautiful moon — nearly full.  Actually, I think tomorrow is the full moon.  Perhaps it’s time to work a spell.

2 thoughts on “On the mend

  1. Just wanted you to know how much I enjoyed reading your blog. Your personal note about men, put a smile on my face. Not that I’m happy you can’t find someone, just the way you told the story. I gave up on men along time ago, not worth the headache. I found your blog for the first time today, and look forward to more. Love your quilting. I’ve only made a couple, I am more into crochet and cross stitch but that hasn’t stopped me from buying more fabric I’ll ever use in a lifetime. One day I’ll give quilting a try again. Thank you for your blog and for making me smile today!!

    • Thanks for your kind comments. Loneliness can be a horrible thing, but as long as I have so many wonderful blessings to count, it will be the least of my worries. I gave up and bought a dog! ;p

Leave a Reply

