Let the silly season commence

I can see it, I can feel it.  The tension of the holiday season building on the internet.  Friends and acquaintances almost ready to burst with the stress of buying and entertaining.  I just don’t do that stuff anymore.  I think that most of my family is beginning to settle down too.  My sister-in-law’s family still has a large gathering and I know I am always welcome there, but I find peace and quiet much more inviting.  The furkids and I will keep to ourselves on Thanksgiving as we usually do.  They show such admiration for my ability to hunt down and prepare a bird of immense proportions (in their minds, anyway — I think it’s a 13-pounder) and we snuggle on the couch with our turkey tidbits, catnip (the dog likes it too), and a bottle of wine for me.  We have a DVD fest, we go for a walk, we play ball in the back yard, and all is very peaceful.  This year we will be one fewer.  It’s sad, but we’ll drink a toast to Junior and remember him very fondly.  We may even put up the Christmas tree this year.  I love having a tree, but have been afraid the past few years that Ozzie would chew it up.  I think I will put it in the corner undecorated for a few days and see how he handles it.  If all is well, we’ll get the decorations on and hope for the best.  I’ve got some new battery-operated candles this year to add a nice ambience to the room with no fears of burning the place down.  Some nice music (with the occasional metal tune) and we’ll be set for a happy holiday season.  I wish you all peace and no stress for the holidays!

Leave a Reply

