It hardly seems possible

Forty-five years ago today I lost the most important people in my life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Neither of them had yet even reached the age of 45.  How can they have been gone for so long?  How can I miss them so much still?  I can still hear my mother singing to me, I can still feel the scratch of my dad’s five o’clock shadow on my face.  They had their flaws, as we all do, but they were good people.  I remember them with fondness but will not dwell on the sadness.  I’m grateful for the presence of two of God’s angels in my life, even if they were only here for a short while.

Off to crank the tunes and get on with the day.  I love you Mom and Dad.

2 thoughts on “It hardly seems possible

  1. What a sweet post. I can’t imagine losing both parents so suddenly when you were so young and how difficult your life was after that. You are an amazing woman, Your parents would have been so proud of you.
    Love you bunches!

    • Aw, thanks. I’m sure there were things in my past they wouldn’t have loved, but I think I had them long enough to teach me the basics. As they say, that which does not kill you only makes you stronger. I can, at times, be one tough witch! ;P Going back home when things got tough was never an option till now, but it’s my home and just fur kids here to love me. It’s all good.

Leave a Reply

