It’s frickin’ freezin’ in here, Mr. Bigglesworth!

The one thing I miss about being very fat:  warmth.  Ever since losing 85 pounds (and, perhaps it’s more now, but I haven’t been on the scale lately) I have been freezing.  I remember when I was heavy, thinking that anything above 72 was so HOT.  Now I don’t seem to get uncomfortable till we hit 85 or above.  The weather changed yesterday.  We got our first measurable rain in two months, but the sun came out from time to time and it was a reasonably nice day.  This morning, it is COLD.  60 degrees outside.  65 in the house.  I have on my full complement of clothing, plus a hooded sweatshirt, wool socks, and my Wicked Good shearling-lined slippers.  I just had to go retrieve my winter box of Little Hotties Toe Warmers and put some in my slippers.  I thought my toes would freeze right off.  I need to shower, as I have to pick up more quilts today, but am loath to strip down and jump in the shower.  Of course, the hot water will feel wonderful once I get in there.  It is supposed to warm up again on Wednesday, and I refuse to turn the furnace on this early.  Perhaps I’ll have to make something in the oven (roast veggies) so that I can generate a little warmth in here.

Last winter I bought myself a bolt of Moda toile fabric and my intent is to make some quilted curtains to help keep drafts out and energy bills low this winter.  I guess I’d best finish up the customer quilts and get that yardage on the machine.  It won’t be too long before I need my quilted curtains.  I’m so cold!

2 thoughts on “It’s frickin’ freezin’ in here, Mr. Bigglesworth!

  1. Linda, we bought a small electric heater to put in the bathroom to heat it up for taking showers. That way we are toasty warm when wet, and DH doesn’t have a heart attack if he has to turn up the temp a few degrees. (Scrooge has nothing on him. LOL) Works great and doesn’t use a lot of electricity. Sara in AL

Leave a Reply

