The last day of summer

Well, it had to come.  The last day of warm sun and long days.  Our forecast really fits the change of seasons.  It’s supposed to be in the mid-80’s today, and then much cooler and cloudier tomorrow and Friday, followed by probable rain on Sunday.  However, this is the Northwest, where summer generally lingers on into October.  I’m sure we’ll have warm and sunny days ahead, even if they are much shorter.  I’ve enjoyed a couple of the warm evenings in the back yard with the dog, as I haven’t been quilting much due to my cat bite.  I can actually make a fist today and can grip things, so I think I may be back in business!  Just in time for the cooler weather.

Lots to do today.  I seem to have let the house go while I’ve been lying here feeling incredibly ill from this infection.  How can one person (and a dog and two cats) make such a mess in three days?  Geez.  Luckily, it’s only a small cottage, so it won’t take that long to clean up.  We need a thorough vacuuming today.  I saw on the news last night that this is the worst year for fleas in a long time.  I had not noticed any in the house, but Ozzie is scratching despite an application of Revolution, and Junior’s main problem was fleas and flea allergy.  My sister is coming and we need to shop for a new modem for her.  I’ll be taking the technologically-challenged to Best Buy this afternoon.  Apparently, the new Century-Link has you over the barrel as far as usable modems.

So, quilts to quilt, a quilt to make for my physical therapist (in process, but need to speed it up), and items for a holiday bazaar to make.  Just little purses, hot pads, tea cozies, etc.  I think it will be nice (knowing the participants) instead of cheesy, so I’m sort of excited about it.

All of you please enjoy the last day of summer.  To my friends in the upside-down part of the world, enjoy the coming of spring!  Off I go.

Leave a Reply

