At what point does technology become too much?

I’ve always been a willful child.  I like to set things up the way I like them, and I’m in my comfort zone.  I don’t like it when things change and disrupt my comfort zone.  Over the past few weeks I have had to rid myself of two pieces of technology that would no longer bend themselves to my will.  1)  My Droid.  I had a Droid X from Verizon.  When I first got it, I thought it was the bomb!  I could email, surf the web, find businesses near my current location, stargaze, find all my friends, etc.  I was in tech heaven.  Somewhere along the line, the Droid really did become a Droid.  It started calling people whenever it felt like it.  I could be sitting on the couch reading and suddenly hear someone yelling at me from my phone which would be sitting on the coffee table, and they were wondering why I called them?  I didn’t.  The phone did — without my touching it.  I did a software upgrade, and it only got worse. It wouldn’t allow me to answer incoming calls.  It attempted to download apps I didn’t want, and would eat my battery up in the trying.  I finally decided to go back to my old phone.  As I tried to activate an old phone, the tech asked me to power off my Droid.  I did.  It shut down.  While we were trying to activate my other phone, the Droid turned itself back on!  I pulled it’s battery.  Feeling better now, Dave?  2) Facebook.  Don’t even get me started.  I’ve weathered the changes over the past couple of years.  Usually finding how to eliminate the fancy gadgets it threw up into my path as I just tried to keep up with friends.  Last night was finally IT.  I could not get the latest news feed, only news that Facebook “thought” I “might” want to see.  Nope, sorry.  I like to choose who’s stuff I read.  It also dropped an appendage of current friend updates into my field of vision and I could not rid myself of it.  Aaaaahhhhhhh!  So, I deleted my account.  I spend way too much time there anyway.  I’ll try to keep up with everyone’s blog, the few quilting lists, etc., and hope that’s good.  Sometimes a gal just has to have things the way she wants them.  I can’t follow the Facebook herd anymore (well, at least for now anyway).

4 thoughts on “At what point does technology become too much?

  1. I’m contemplating leaving myself. Spending too much time trying to navigate an unworkable system leaves me less time to actually create! And the changes that have been made irritate the daylights out of me.

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one Judy. As we all know, I tend toward the cranky side at times, and I had just had it last night. Sometimes I think that I need to concentrate more on my friends who are right here, in my sewing circle and my hiking and former work friends. I love knowing people from all over the world, but it’s not really normal to stay in the house with the computer when I could be out for some real human interaction. Plus, I have quilts to make! Holiday bazaar items to sew! I need to get off this computer! ;p

  2. I hate to hear you left FB! I would but I have family all over and that is how we keep in touch. I’m gonna miss you..but I will still come here to see what you are doing! Take care!

    • I miss you too, Becky. I guess now that I’m retired, old, and cranky, I only want to do the things I want to do. Facebook throws too many hurdles in my face. And I have always resented someone telling me what it is that I want. The last night I was there, not only was that annoying ticker hanging in my face, but it had selected all these items as my top news. I don’t know about you, but I have a whole bunch of quilters who have asked to be my friends. I think that’s really nice, but I don’t know anything about them, other than that they occasionally post something I find interesting or amusing. My top stories list was comprised of posts from people I didn’t even know! And it was long — I was paging through trying to find something from a friend. I finally decided it wasn’t worth the aggravation — I’m a keep it low, keep it slow sort of gal these days. I spent too much time there anyway, reading way too much stuff when I should have been quilting. I may come back someday, but for now, I’m enjoying the peace and quiet.

Leave a Reply

