My 15 minutes of fame

Imagine my surprise when I received an email this morning saying that my whole cloth quilt was the featured quilt of the day on Alex Anderson’s and Ricky Tims’s The Quilt Show Blog!  It took me a while to figure out how it could have gotten there, but then I remembered (through my old lady fog) that I received a one-year’s membership to The Quilt Show when it debuted, and part of it was you could put your quilts in an album on their site.  So, I uploaded it in 2007 and it only took four years to ‘come round again on the guitar’ so to speak.  You can see it here http://www.thequiltshow.com/os/quilt_featured.php/quilts_id/1000043 I am, of course, very pleased to have my quilt on display for the day.  This was my very first whole cloth quilt, designed in a class with Karen McTavish at MQX in 2006.  It made the show circuit and took a couple of ribbons, probably the most notable being the blue in the pro class at our county fair.  While pretty, it contained a poor batting choice and did not hang well without a lot of prodding.  I still like it though.  It contains a lot of fond memories.

6 thoughts on “My 15 minutes of fame

  1. I was there when you started that quilt! I feel honored! lol
    Seriously, that is a great honor to have your quilt on their blog. It is a beautiful quilt and deserves to be seen!

    • That’s right! I remember coming back from class just bursting with excitement — had it all laid out for you to see. It’s been around the block a few times, but I still like it.

Leave a Reply

