I’m RETIRED!!

Well, sorta kinda.  I had the day off today (April 1, but it was no joke).  It was a gorgeous, warm sunny day for most of the day.  It clouded up late in the day.  I slept in until 9 a.m.  Unheard of for me, even on the weekends.  I had great coffee, played ball with my dog, did a little laundry, the dishes, vacuumed, and a little sewing.  Didn’t get any quilting in, because it was time to head down to my brother’s house to celebrate his birthday.  His birthday isn’t till Sunday, but he and his wife have an outing to the coast, so we won’t celebrate on that day.  Came home, played with the dog some more, and now I’m winding down and getting ready for bed.  It was a great day.  Looking forward to the weekend, then I have to go back to work on Monday.  However, I’m not going to be a regular employee anymore.  I’m a post-retiree employee.  The door will be open to the outside.  If it gets to be too much for me (as it has several times over the past few years) I won’t feel guilty if I get up and head out the door.  I hope to finish up everything I need to do, clean up my disastrous office (kind of looks like my house!) and hang in there until they find someone to take my job.  I hope to last the six months (it would be great financially), but I’m not really sure I can hack it.  After 32 years on the job I’m out of gas.  Just no drive for jumping through hoops, putting up with politics and bullshit.  I want to sew, quilt, garden, dance around to loud rock and roll, and live in my house — maybe organize it and make it feel like my home.  I’ve been here almost 20 years and it’s always been just a house.  I want to make it my home.  Hopefully, with time, I’ll get it all organized and comfy.  I’m ready.  I’m happy.  I’m retired.

2 thoughts on “I’m RETIRED!!

  1. Linda,
    I am so happy for you. We have chatted a few times on the APQS forum and you were so kind to help me with some questions I had. I too got tired of the politics and bullshit and retired from my previous job and now work part time and the quilt.

    So I wish you well, and share your relief!

    Much fun in your retirement,
    Beth

Leave a Reply

