Paperless paper piecing coming right up!

New adventures in the New Year.  I will be teaching Sharon Schamber’s Piec-lique’ technique at Our Sewing Room in Springfield, OR  on February 12th.  If you have never tried this technique before, you owe it to yourself to give it a try.  It’s very easy to do, makes your points and curves super-accurate, and basically shows you how to paper piece without the paper or even pins!  Of course, you will not have Sharon there to throw out bits of wisdom to you (she’s a super teacher), but I’ll do my best to share tips she shared while I took her class.  The class includes a packet which comes directly from Sharon, so you will go home with her pattern and a CD which contains a PDF of meticulous instructions in case you forget what you learned.  I’ll be bringing a few patterns for small projects you can make from the finished blocks.

I’ll try attaching the flier for the class here Flier – Piec-lique in case you are interested in registering.  We still have plenty of space, so all are welcome.

As I’ve practically shouted from here before, I will be retiring this year.  I officially retire from my day job on April 1, but will continue working for approximately 1039 hours (six months, and the maximum allowable under retirement rules), which will take me up to nearly October 1.  I plan to ramp up my quilting business at that time, concentrating mostly on simple designs for those who wish to have their quilts finished without having to pay an arm and a leg.  While I enjoy doing custom quilting, it is a long process and I think that by and large my customers just want a comfy blankie to sleep under.  Besides the quilts, I’m going to re-plant my vegetable garden this year, get my flowers back up to snuff, and I may even add a couple of chickens to the back yard.  Of course, they will have to be in an enclosed run, or Ozzie will most likely have them for breakfast.  The local raccoons would also probably like them as a midnight snack.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to a wonderful 2011.  Meeting lots of new people, making new friends, traveling a bit more, and just taking the time to stop and smell the roses.  Hopefully, I’ll also have the time to play with all the toys I’ve amassed at quilt shows over the past six years.  I have dyes, paints, stamps, foundations, patterns, embellishments, etc., galore to experiment with, so I’m sure I’ll never be bored.  I wish the same for all of you.

2 thoughts on “Paperless paper piecing coming right up!

Leave a Reply

