The Silly Season

Does your family put the fun in dysfunctional?  Mine does.  Actually, from what I hear, most folks have some part of their family that totally flips out at holiday time.  Over the past couple of weeks I have had to listen to family gripes on the phone and am doing my best to make sure we all have a fun and peaceful holiday season.  Childhood trauma can really change your views of the holidays.  What should be a season of peace and love is rarely that for us.  I am really looking forward to seeing everyone and hope that it will be a wonderful get-together.  I’m off work for the start of next week, then will be working the week between Christmas and New Year’s.  I do hope it will be a good time to get caught up on paperwork, move funds to the spots they need to be for the faculty, and start to clean 23 years of crud out of my office.  I’ve been in that one job for that long, with a total of 31 years at the UO.

I did my termination paperwork (for March 31) today, and also created my post-retirement contract to begin April 1st.  I’ll need to get my boss to sign all this stuff and send it in.

I’m sure I’ll be back during the holidays.  In the meanwhile, I hope you all have a lovely and peaceful holiday season, celebrating whatever it is that you celebrate during this season.  Only five more days till the days get longer again!

One thought on “The Silly Season

Leave a Reply

