The road less travelled

I had a very quiet Thanksgiving.  I think I really needed the time to relax and regroup.  Ozzie and I roasted a turkey, but didn’t make a bunch of stuff to go with it.  Actually, I had a turkey wing and a salad for dinner.  Ozzie got bits of turkey in his kibble and was a very happy boy for it.  We were invited to a family gathering, which would have been very nice, but I felt a little to rung out to even get dressed and drive.  I turned on the TV to put in a movie, and found that the National Dog Show was on.  Ozzie just went nuts.  He barked at the dogs who made him nervous, he would take his ball or a toy over to the TV when he saw a dog he wanted to play with.  It was so entertaining.  We went out and played ball in the back yard for a while, and then we did watch a movie.  He’s a really good snuggler, and even allows Vince (one of my cats) to join us on the couch.

Yesterday I deboned the turkey and made a big turkey and barley stew.  I’ll freeze half of it, or I’ll be eating turkey all the way till Christmas.  I’ve been puttering around the house, cleaning things up, washing warmer winter clothes (why do they always smell so funny from being in the closet for a few months?) and just relaxing.  Still haven’t made any decisions on what to do on the job front.  I realize I’m lucky to be employed.  In fact, I’ve never been unemployed.  I started working when I was in high school and I’ve always worked and never collected unemployment.  I’m fortunate to be in a position where I can try to make changes in my situation.  For now, I think I’ll just lay some ground-work.  Plan for the future by trying to put away everything I can, build my business up a bit, and prepare to cut myself loose from this stressful path.  I want the road less travelled.

3 thoughts on “The road less travelled

  1. Planning is the path from what I have been told! However, I am not very good at planning!! I tend to just jump..LOL…I guess it is wahtever works for ya!! Enjoy the time is what matters and try to work on a plan to decrease the stress level!!!

Leave a Reply

