The fork in the road?

I have worked at the University of Oregon for 31 years.  After 30 years of service, a state employee (me) can retire with full benefits.  However, I had 75% of my retirement fund in the variable annuity and, in 2008, I lost 48% of that 75%.  I simply can’t afford to retire now.  The job, though, has become so incredibly stressful, that I am thinking of leaving anyway.  If I were to quit and get a part time job, I could survive financially, and I might actually get my health back.  I have to weigh the costs and benefits here.  I’ve worked in this job without much reward for years.  I do get good benefits, but the salary sucks.  The administration of the UO continues to ‘decentralize,’ which means they keep giving me more stuff to do for no extra money.  I’m nearing the straw that breaks the camel’s back.  Is this why I can’t bear to quilt anymore?  I basically have no joy in anything.  At what point do you decide that enough is enough?

I’m not ancient.  I still feel I have a lot to offer.  I just want to do something that is fun to do.  I don’t want to handle peoples’ BS every day.  I don’t mind problem solving.  I just don’t want to have other people make their problems mine.  So, I’m going to think about down-sizing.  Finding something I love to do.  Finding a way to get by on less.  I feel a thrill of joy inside just thinking about it.

7 thoughts on “The fork in the road?

    • Thanks sweetie! I think it’s just the day job sucking the joy out of my life. I either need to make up my mind that I still love it and keep going, or find something else to do. The latter has greater appeal!

  1. yep….working at a job all day that drains you can VERY much take the joy out of your life!!! Sounds to me like you are in need of some major changes!! Go for it and find that part time job that you may love!!!!

  2. I do understand as I’ve had a job like yours in the past. However, for the past two years I’ve been looking for work since being laid off (a new experience) and so just having a job is something to be grateful for. But I hope you are able to find something that you enjoy because life is way too short!

    • I know Lisa – every time I hear the jobless report, I realize it is a blessing that I’m still employed. I really need to find something that gives me joy. I’m so fortunate to have the near-luxury of deciding to do that.

  3. I,too, have been in your shoes. I walked away from a high stress job in IT management, took a 4 month break and then found something I loved to do. I know now is not the time to walk away from a job, but I alway believe that health and happiness are so important. I will tell you this, Linda, what we (husband and I ) did is lived a couple of months on only his salary, to see if we could be happy and survive without mine as I was the main breadwinner. Well, we did find out that we were capable of doing that and we are both happy now cuz I am. I wish you luck in your decision. We are all her for you!!!

Leave a Reply

