The cycle of life

On Thursday, we welcomed a new family member.  Logan Dale Benson was born at 7:01 a.m. Eastern time to my niece Emily and her husband Aaron.  Logan arrived on his grandfather’s (my brother-in-law’s) birthday.  Mom and son are doing very well.

Today I received a phone call from my relatives in Connecticut.  My cousin’s son Billy passed away in the night.  We have no idea why.  He was not ill, I don’t think he was yet 50 years old.  He went to sleep and just did not wake up.  My aunts are, of course, devastated.  My cousin Carol (Billy’s mom) passed several years ago from breast cancer, and Billy was the apple of my Aunt Ethel’s eye.  There is too much loss in our family.  It makes me so sad.

So, one joins the family, another departs.  Hold tight to the ones you love while they are here.  We are all precious to one another.

Leave a Reply

