Oh the places you’ll go!

Well, if you’re a quilt.  I have been lucky enough to have been included in the USA group of art quilters who have done international exchanges over the past several years.  Our first exchange was based on the alphabet and was done between the US, Japan, and France — I had the letter M and did a cat sleeping on an M-shaped fence while it dreamed of Mice crawling up the boards.  Our second exchange was based on currency and was between the US, Japan, and New Zealand – I chose the Oregon Quarter and quilted a volcano to represent Mt. Mazama erupting to form Crater Lake.   Our present exchange is based on World Festivals.  I was given the Palio in Italy.  I found was wonderful photo on the web (webshots) wrote to the woman who had it on her webshots page, and got permission to use the photo.  Just as I was finishing the quilt to send off to the challenge, she wrote to say, “oh, THAT photo — it’s a postcard.”  OMG!!  Well, I didn’t have the name of the postcard company so I couldn’t write to ask permission, so I’m praying I don’t get sued as the quilt makes it’s pilgrimage around the world.  If anyone contacts me, I’d be more than willing to give credit for their wonderful photographic artistry.  I only wish the quilt were a better representation.  This exchange is also between the US, Japan, and France.  The quilts always debut at the Yokohama Quilt Festival in Japan.  ANYWAY, I don’t have a picture of the quilt (or the other two at the moment) to show you, but I did want to show you where the exhibit of our quilts is at the moment, and where it will be until August 23.  Oh, if I could only go and visit the quilt!

Castle

Castle Interior

Castle exhibit

Castle exhibit 2

This is the Nogent-le-Roi Castle in Beauce, France, which is very near Chartres and the famous cathedral.  Heck, if I can’t be there with the quilt, I would settle for wracking up all of it’s frequent flier miles.  I could probably go around the world several times on the miles of these three little quilts.

3 thoughts on “Oh the places you’ll go!

    • No new puppy pics yet. I just checked this morning. There is one female still available and there is another litter on the way, due to go home on November 1st! I’ll dig around for pics of the art quilts. I have my volcano hanging here in my office.

Leave a Reply

