Retreat!

What a wonderful life it would be if we could go from quilting retreat to quilting retreat.  I just came home from four days at Silver Falls State Park. We stay in the lodges, have our meals prepared for us every day, and have a great big meeting hall where 24 of us fit comfortably and sew till the wee hours of the morning.  I worked on my Rangeley Stars quilt (picture shown here IMG_2790 is of the pattern by Deb Tucker, http://www.studio180design.net).  With Deb’s permission, I will be teaching a class on this quilt at the Ocean Waves Quilt Camp (by Jane’s Fabric Patch) in October.  Here is a photo of a few of the blocks I have assembled for the center of my quilt.  

 

DSCN0734In addition to sewing, we get to hike the wonderful trails at the park, including the main river gorge with 10 waterfalls.  One of my favorite parts of the retreat is the campfire.  Our chefs prepared our fire for us this time and it ignited instantly and was a lovely blaze.  DSCN0721We sit around the fire, share home-made liqueurs, wine, stories, marshmallows, s’mores, and lots of laughs.  This year we had caramel marshmallows, chocolate marshmallows, and even roasted peeps!

On Saturday, our director of fun, Adonna (I really think she should be dubbed Queen or Empress of Fun, as she does such a wonderful job), taught a sun painting class.  Here are some of the gals displaying their projects.DSCN0735DSCN0739There were only two problems with this retreat.  One, I forgot to slather on the bug repellent I brought with me, and the no-see-ums ate me alive.  I’m still scratching!  Two, I had to come home to reality.  Ah, but I can dream of the next getaway — Ocean Waves Quilt Camp in the fall!

2 thoughts on “Retreat!

  1. Looks like a wonderful time, but I surely feel lucky that I averted the no-see-ums….

    I get to take your class, now to decide on what colors, this year is going to be a blast at camp… See ya in a few weeks if not before, then we will be the wild three-some instead of the wild two0some, Penny’s coming to Oregon and we are going to have a blast… Hugs

  2. Oh if life could only be a retreat 🙂
    Those no-see-ums are the worst, we of course also have black fly season, which is a little late this year. We are feeling abit left out around here with our temps still in the low teens or single digits..Celsius that is.
    I love the quilt you’ll be teaching, and I’m starting to think that you and Ronda are having far too much fun lol!!

Leave a Reply

