Moving right along

It’s really great to see a little bit of sunshine today.  There has been far too much rain here in Oregon lately.  My brother (bless him) mowed my lawn while I was away at MQX and the grass is already growing out of control again.  I’m getting that “kill the grass and turn it all to bark mulch” desire again!  Actually, I’d love to make a nice English Country Garden out of the front yard.  Lots of tall beautiful perennials waving in the breeze.  I’m a fan of snapdragons, sunflowers, monkshood, foxglove, delphinium, cardinal lobelia, cone flowers, and lots and lots of roses.  As long as you can keep them watered and keep the weeds down, they are so much easier to care for than a lawn.  If I had the time to get out there and plot out the beds and lay the irrigation tubing, I’d do it, but I think it may have to wait a year or two.

I’m off to a start on my Creativity Challenge for MQX 2010.    I’ve got the pieces all traced out and stapled to layers of applique’ paper (from Purple Daisiesllc.com).  I’ll get all the little pieces cut out tonight and then I’ll begin making the flowers and other motifs from a selection of lovely silk/cotton blends that I’ve had in my stash for a while.  I do promise to use some of my least favorite colors.  These would be the intensely warm colors of yellow, orange, etc.  I’m basically a cool color gal – greens, purples, magentas, maybe a little red (on the warmer side I guess), with a little bit of blue thrown in.  We’ll see if I can warm up with a bit of yellow, gold and orange!

Hope you’re all off to a good day.  Spring is coming!

6 thoughts on “Moving right along

  1. I am doing the challenge too! It’s all new for me, applique (I want to try it) and putting anything in a show….never done either before. I hope I get to see this collection up close and personal like…if ya get my drift!
    Take care of you, friend!

    • I too hope you will be at MQX 2010! It will be so fun to see these all hanging together. I am determined to get mine done soon. No procrastinating (as is my MO) on this one!

  2. There’s a yard I pass often that is all planted and set up like a little cottage garden. I’d love to do that too but probably never will. Funny you mention Purple Daisies . . I’ve watched Sharon Schamber’s binding videos several times today. I’m getting close to getting brave enough to use glue on the binding. Can’t wait to see pictures of the challenge pieces.

  3. I am not signing up for the challenge, I am not signing up, I am not signing up!!!!!!!! I just know I would fail – it would not get done or it wouldn’t get juried in. But I want to sign up. Like Gina, I need to change the channel. By the way Linda, I can’t get to the challenge from the link that you provided in the body of the blog post – says wrong address or something. Maybe it’s just me.

    • Come on Penny! You’d make something fabulous, I just know it! Thanks for letting me know about the link. I’ll try to fix it. I had just linked it to Ronda’s blog post about it.

  4. I am so glad you are doing this as so many others…… Penny has to do it since Karen Thompson and Lisa Calle are digitizing the design for free for us LA Chat members…… Can;t wait to see yours and the colors you have chosen….. What a great brother you have, enjoy the sunshine today… Love ya

Leave a Reply

