Anxiety and aggravation

Ah well.  Here it is 2:15 a.m.  I cannot sleep.  I’m not really sure why.  Perhaps it is that my dear friend is having knee surgery tomorrow and I am in fear of the pain I know she will feel.  Lord knows, I’ve been through enough of it lately.  It IS getting better, don’t get me wrong, but the memory is still too fresh and the going is long and slow.  I do not wish it upon anyone, especially someone I care for so much.

In spite of all the pain she has suffered pre-surgery, Ronda has been very busy.  She even took the time out to help me dress my kitchen window up a bit.  We had a fun day in Portland when I was last up for my check-up, and we picked fabric from her stash and then visited a home dec store for the beads at the bottom of the curtain.  The shelf for my orchids is my own doing — from the local home improvement store.  I knew I had to move the orchids from touching the window after my favorite paph sprouted its flower stem and then the bud froze against the window and dropped off.  I was heartbroken.  It had the most spectacular lady slipper bloom on it, and I missed it this year due to the cold.  Here is my very dull and messy window and sill before:  dscn0435

And here is what it looks like now:  dscn0447  

sort of that French Provincial look.  Well, at least as much as can be achieved in an old house in Eugene, OR.  Between the flowerpots sits a small plaque emblazoned with one of my favorite sayings:  “Old age ain’t for sissies” – Bette Davis  Somehow, Ronda always seems to find the right thing to brighten my day.

Of course, I couldn’t resist adding to my collection of orchids.  I love most kinds, but am best at growing paphs – paphiopedilums (lady slippers).  Yesterday I picked up a new one — unsure of the variety, but it is called Pacific Blue Bird.  I love the flowers on this one, and it actually has TWO flower spikes, so I’m in for a show, if I don’t kill it first. dscn0449

The other is a phaleonopsis cross bred with something else.  Not quite sure what.  It’s name, however, is quite entertaining.  It is called, and I kid you not, Sunrise Red Pecker #2.  I have no idea what Red Pecker number 1 looked like, but here we go: dscn0448

My other big news is that I managed to do this entire blog entry from the Mac side of my computer.  While the MacBook is quite impressive, I am not at all thrilled with the way it handles photos, nor am impressed with it’s file hierarchy.  Maybe there’s just a lot more I need to learn about Macs, but I have an awfully hard time finding something once I’ve saved it.  Even when I’m sure where it is, I oftentimes cannot get it to appear so that I can actually use it.  That’s one of the reasons I’ve written so infrequently lately and the whole reason why I haven’t been posting photos.  I’m hoping this will be but a temporary frustration.

So, even though I am still not sleepy, I guess I’ll give going to bed another shot.  I’d like tomorrow to be a productive day.  If you all can find a minute, please say a prayer or send some healing vibes into the air for Ronda.  She’ll have a repair, revision, or replacement of her artificial knee tomorrow (well, actually TODAY, Monday).  Pray for small pain.  Big pain is bad.

3 thoughts on “Anxiety and aggravation

  1. The window looks great Linda. I love your orchids. I knew Ronda was going to have the surgery but didn’t know when. Please tell her she is in my thoughts and prayers. You are too and I hope you continue to get better. I think of you often.

  2. Sooo pretty, that pink of your orchids against the black and white is fabulous…..

    Bewitching hour is 6pm, who does surgery at 6pm???? I will talk to ya soon, hang in there, stay well, I might need a fun nurse soon…. Love ya lots

Leave a Reply

