I’m still here

Has it really been over a month already?  Time seems to fly when you’re asleep through most of it.  This has been a very tough recovery.  Days when I have no problem getting up and even getting dressed; days when I can barely get out of the bed.  I’ve been reading a lot on the internet, but have seldom commented.  I generally tend to fall asleep in mid-post, so it’s been a bit of a waste of my time to find I’ve started a post and wake up two hours later to find that what I was saying is irrelevant.  LOL – perhaps it is most of the time, anyway!

I am up and walking.  Actually, one of my biggest achievements is that I can now stand at the kitchen counter and make a cup of coffee without having to take a long stroll between each step of the preparation.  Early and, hopefully, temporary nerve damage made it impossible for me to stand still and do something.  My legs muscles would spasm and I would have to walk to get it all to stop.  It still happens now and again, but not much at all.  I’ll be in physical therapy twice a week for three months starting next week.  Thank goodness for insurance.  The co-pays alone will take a substantial bite out of the fabric budget!  I have permission to go back to work at up to 1/4 time.  However, this will be work from home.  Thank goodness.  The few forays I have made into the office have been like feeding time at the shark tank — not much of the ‘how are yous?’, but plenty of the ‘oh! you’re back! here are my receipts!’  Ah, Ph.D.s — can’t live with ’em, can’t kill ’em.  I think I will pick up my work and drop off the things I have done after hours to avoid the feeding frenzy.

I have a new MacBook.  Not that I know much about Macs at all, but for now I am running Windows on it using a program called Parallels.  My blog will be somewhat bereft of photos for a while as I cannot seem to get the Mac to recognize my digital camera.  Well, actually, it recognizes it, downloads my photos to iPhoto, but I can’t seem to get them out of there, even though I have little tutorial videos explaining just how easy it is to share photos between the two operating systems.  Generally I am not one to admit defeat in computing problems, but at present I don’t have enough energy to pour into solving the problems.

I manage my daily walk.  I have a swanky green cyclone cane to help keep me from falling, and I’ve done a little bit of sewing.  I should get my niece to put my sewing machine up higher so I can sew while standing.  Sitting is still a major problem for me.  I can do it, but it seems to set my spine back ten paces from the two I’ve gotten ahead.  Today I plan to finish the center of my round robin block I’ve made for the MQX Pet Challenge.  A couple of friends and I are making the small quilts for the challenge and they will be donated and auctioned off to raise money for the New Hampshire SPCA.  I really wish that I could get back to quilting.  I think it may not be too terribly long till I can do it.  I can now stand still, as I said, and I’m getting better at reaching, so I should soon be able to handle the small quilting surface that comes with my Liberty.  I do have a quilt on the machine, all ready to go, I’ve another here from my other sister to quilt, and a wonderful piecer in town is waiting for me to do three more king-sized quilts for her, so I certainly won’t be idle once I can get to moving without much pain and without falling asleep while the machine is running. 

I miss you all terribly, wish I were awake in the evenings to pop into MQR chat, but I generally mis-time my naps and miss it altogether.  Hopefully, it won’t be long before I’m back in the swing of things. I have an appointment with my surgeon next Tuesday which I think will involve some xrays to be certain the fusion is well underway.  I feel as though I’ve had a small board inserted in my back, so I would assume all is okay.

So, here’s to 2009.  May it be a better year than its predecessor.  It certainly wouldn’t take much to make it an improvement.  Too much illness, sadness, death, and disappointment in 2008.  I hereby pledge that I will do my best to make 2009 fun.  I will get my health back and hope to see many of you at quilting shows and on the various quilting lists.  Bless you all for your wonderful notes and phone calls since my surgery.

7 thoughts on “I’m still here

  1. Boy. Here is have been whining about my back. You sure put my problems into perspective. I am so glad that you are getting some relief finally! I know it will take a long time to heal but be patient and take care of yoruself! Are you going to attend MQX this year?

  2. Yes, Vicki – I’ll be at MQX. I’m actually teaching a class there! I think I’ll be okay to do it — it’s just a beginner’s “how to” class – lecture/demo, so it should actually be kind of fun.

  3. Don’t overdo, we have alot of mischief to attend to in 2009 one of which will soon be upon us our Retreat….. Stay well my friend… Hugs

  4. It is good to hear from you and to know you are getting a little better with each day. You are an amazing woman with lots of strength and courage!

  5. I’m glad to hear you are doing better Linda! I’ve missed seeing you in chat when I do get in there.
    Keep taking care of yourself sounds like you are on a much better road these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

