Thanks – and trying to find a way to say it adequately

On this day, in this nation, we all stop to say thanks for all the things we have.  If we have way more Things than we need, we most likely will stop to say thanks for the non-tangible things in our lives.  It’s hard to say thanks for all the love if you’re living in a cardboard box under the bridge, but hey, if you’re lucky enough to have lots to love while living in a terrible situation, at least you have some blessings.  I would like to let you all know today that I am indeed one of the most blessed people on the face of this good earth.  I have nearly every thing I could need.  Actually, I probably have more than I need and nearly everything I could ever want.  I have a roof over my head, more than enough food to eat, heat on demand, medicine when I’m ill, general health that largely precludes my needing medicine, and a retirement plan which, in about a year, while not taking care of all my expenses, will probably cover everything except my health insurance for the rest of my life.  In short, I just about have it all.  Along the way in my life’s journey, I have met some wonderful friends.  I say this while lying on the couch under a beautiful quilt that some very sweet quilting friends made for me.  Some know me very well, some not so well.  At any rate, they took the time and showed the kindness of heart to contribute to this gift that I will cherish forever.  More than any of these things, howevver, I have had an experience in life that I wish for all of you.  I have had the great fortune to meet one of the rarest of beings — a true friend.  She listens to me, drops everything and comes when I need her, and I have to say that this week she actually saved my life.  I ended up having to have two surgeries to repair my spine, instead of the one we had planned.  When I awoke from the second surgery, I was hallucinating, I was in severe pain, and my family was two hours away.  The staff at the hospital essentially left me in a single room with inadequate pain meds and closed the door so they wouldn’t have to listen to me.  I managed to get hold of my cell phone and called (several crazy calls) to Ronda and my family.  Who dropped everything and came to my aid?  When Ronda got to the hospital, I was in shock.  I was pasty white, cold, my hands and arms clenched into claws, and I was screaming my head off.  When the staff realized there was someone there, they finally sprang into action to help me.  She stayed at my side for hours until I was finally resting and then, when I was sprung to come home earlier than expected, she came and got me, drove me home and then drove all the way back to Portland by herself.  Only God knows if I will ever find the way to repay her.  Suffice it to say that I will always be there for her too.  There is nothing too large or too overwhelming she could ask of me. 

So, on this day of thanks, I would like to say thanks to all of you, but especially to my dear friend Ronda, and I sincerely hope that such an angel crosses your path in your lifetime.

11 thoughts on “Thanks – and trying to find a way to say it adequately

  1. We are all lucky if we have just one “Rhonda” in our lives – what a dear, dear friend you have! I am glad you are home and in the mend. I hope you have a quick recovery.

  2. Linda, I am so blessed to have you in my life as a friend. I am also very happy today to read that you are back among us, we who have worried and waited to hear good news from you.

    Have a blessed Thanksgiving my friend!

  3. Wonderful friends are truly the one of life’s blessings and you and Ronda are both deserving of that wonderful blessing. Your ordeal following surgery sounds awful and I am so glad Ronda came to nurture and rescue you. It is good to hear you are home.

  4. You my Dear have been a blessing to me and our Sophie and Jim too, you have been her for me helping me deal with the loss of my Son you are a true friend… How does the saying go, You can call a friend to bail you out of jail but a good friend will always be sitting next to you saying damn that was fun what are we going to do next…… I did no more then you have done for me, I was there for a friend in need, and will always be here for you… Get some rest, I am so glad to hear you sounding so much better…. Sharing your thanks for a blessed life with friends like you in it… Hugs and much love

  5. Linda, I’m so sorry to read that you’ve had such a hard time. I pray that your back problems will be over as soon as you are recovered.

    You’ve been on my mind many times over the past week.

  6. I’m so sorry you had that awful experience with the surgery — which would have been bad enough had it been a good experience. From what little I know about Ronda, I’m sure there’s no need at all to ever try to repay her by doing anything other than being her friend. That’s what good friends are for and as most of us know, good friends are hard to come by sometimes. I’m glad you two found each other! I wish you a speedy and comfortable recovery.

  7. Linda, I’ve been wondering how things were going with your back. I’m so sorry that you had a rough go after the surgery! It’s a good thing that you could call on Rhonda and have her come to your rescue. I hope that you have a very sucessful recovery! May the coming year bring you much health and happiness!

  8. I am so glad to hear you are home and resting somewhat comfortably. Ronda is a good friend and so are you. If we are lucky and blessed in this life we are able to give of ourselves to our friends. It always feels better when you are the one doing the giving. I’m sure Ronda agrees with me. I’ve been thinking of you, Linda and so glad the surgeries are over. Rest now and get better. Love you.

  9. Hi Linda, I’m so glad to hear you are on the mend. You sound so positive which will really make a difference in your recovery. Ronda is a very special person. Have a wonderful restful holiday!

Leave a Reply

