Busy, busy, but lazy, lazy

I haven’t blogged in forever.  I’ve been really busy trying to get my life in order so that I can have back surgery in November, but in between organizing things, I’m very guilty of lying around doing nothing.  It’s easy when you have pain, you can make the excuse that you need to lie down, but things still need to be done!

I have been spoiling myself for the past week and will do so again this weekend.  I went to the Ocean Waves Quilt Camp in Twin Rocks, OR last weekend (well, Wednesday-Sunday) and I am going to a quilting retreat at Silver Falls State Park this weekend (Friday – Monday).  I figure I need to have fun before I’m laid-up for a long, long time.  Quilt Camp was so fun.  I roomed with six other women and we all snored like freight trains, but we were so pooped from quilting, running errands, laughing, having a glass of wine, laughing, creating, laughing again, that it really didn’t matter.  I did intend to take lots and lots of pictures.  I did take my camera.  I took a few pictures at dinner the very first night and they came out blurry, and I never got the camera out again.  Too busy having a good time!  It has really been hard to be at work this week, but I’ve gotten a lot done and will really have to ramp up the volume tomorrow so I can feel good about being gone for more days.  I’ll get there.

I got my info packet for my surgery today.  It has an activity chart for after surgery.  I MAY be able to drive within three weeks of surgery (I hope so, I need to go back to Portland for a re-check!).  I CAN walk and do stairs, which is good.  I’m not supposed to do laundry or vacuum for SIX MONTHS!!  8^0  Woo doggies!  It’s going to be stinky and dirty in this house.  The cats won’t be doing that stuff for me, that’s for sure.  I can swim after 3 months, so that’s good.  I got a membership at the UO’s Student Recreation Center — much cheaper than any gym in town, so I’ll be able to enjoy that then.  Looks like I’ll need to do much more preparation than I had thought, so I’d best be getting to it.

One thought on “Busy, busy, but lazy, lazy

  1. Glad you are getting some fun in with your retreats but you have the best excuse of all to just rest. I don’t kow how you are able to do anything with your pain level.

Leave a Reply

